Communication is Key

There’s been a lot of conversation back and forth over the last weekend, between long term investors in SAFEX and people who are rapidly losing faith. So for what it’s worth, I thought I’d throw my 2 sats in.

I’m a career project management consultant, who over the last 25 years has managed and delivered a mixed array of IT and business change projects. In my years of experience, the thing I consider a fundamental requirement for project success is COMMUNICATION.

People are frustrated about the under delivery of the wallet, but that’s not really the issue here; people are actually frustrated by the lack of information as to WHY it’s not delivered.

The SAFEX team announced a delivery date of the wallet, and failed to deliver to that date. I totally understand that in managing a project, delivery dates regularly slip, it’s part and parcel of the job…but the external stakeholders of the project (ie us investors) need to understand why slippage has occurred and what’s being done about it.

We are in an age where communication is free and instant. The lack of updates from the SAFEX team regarding the wallet have led to fear amongst people who have a vested interest in this project (both financially and personally).

Other crypto projects I’ve invested in have multiple daily updates on their website blogs, as well as regular tweets throughout the day; this keeps all stakeholders in the loop of what developments are going on. I’ve no doubt that SAFEX has been going through major developments over the last week, but the communication of that has been sparse to say the least.

You can feel the relief in the forum from the last update (hearing that the team are still around gives people comfort), but these updates need to become part of the everyday management of this project.