Pool hash rate significantly lower than local hash rate

I’ve upgraded my video card and got higher hash rate on my local machine, but the pool reports my hash rate to be 1/3 of what I am getting locally. I am getting around 900 H/s on my local machine and around 200 H/s in the pool. I have tried multiple pools. Please help!!!

Hi.

Can you confirm what you mean by “higher hash rate on my local machine”? Are you running a pool locally? Or do you have the blockchain + stratum combo?

I kind of gave you an idea in the other thread, I am by no means an expert but that is what I am experiencing.

I understand what you mean now. Your miner is telling you one speed, and the pools are telling you another.

This is because the mining software doesnt communicate what your hash rate is to the pool. So the pool has to estimate what your hash rate is based on how many block solution submissions are you making, and averages it out.

I wouldn’t worry - you’re still getting the same performance. It’s just at the lower speeds, it’s harder for the pools to accurately work it out.

Most pools adjust your difficulty over a period of time, so i suspect the longer you leave it, the more accurate it will become.

Case in point - my personal miner is doing 2.5KH/s, but on the Safex News pool, it’s only showing up at 1.75KH/s.

You’re not losing performance. It’s just the pools have to guess your performance as best possible.

3 Likes

I also see that when I notice a drop in what the pool is showing, the latency to the server is higher so that may contribute as well to what is displayed.

3 Likes

Thanks everyone! I was only mining for a few hours when I notice the different rates. I will let it run longer. Thanks again!

4 Likes

After running for 2 hours, I was only able to mine .33 safex. The calculator says at 900H/s I should receive around 12 per day which is 1 every 2 hours. Is this normal?

1 Like