Project Management! Constructive criticisma from an investor

Daniel,

I work as a project manager for a company the has multi-million dollar contracts and answers to clients that average hundreds of millions to billions a year. It doesn’t matter how well intentioned, how unique, how essential my company is… it only matters at the end of the day… I deliver what I said I would, when I would for the price they expect.

Now it’s true with all projects that hiccups happen, some aren’t foreseen, some don’t have an easy answer, sometimes you are honest with the client, other times you aren’t. I maybe biased, but this project needs a properly skilled project manager. We make small decisions that put out big fires in the future, our job is to SEE the future; how a scenario is seen by the client, when we should talk to the client, what we should say, how to say it and when to say it. We determine where money should be spent, where it should be saved, where time should be allocated and what’s important now vs. what’s important later. We listen to everyone. We ask questions of everyone. We are jacks of all trades (and ultimately… master of none… we don’t need to be).

A good project manager would’ve foresaw your schedule for development, travel, media, etc. and prevented you from giving a solid date on the wallet project. A good project manager would set goals and within those goals, what would be announced and what wouldn’t. It’s always better to exceed expectations. I would never have given a date for the wallet release. I would’ve made sure it was tested and re-tested by different groups, make it super intuitive. When it was working and we were only fine tweaking… I would’ve leaked it would be out soon, not give a date, then release.

You don’t need to give dates. You’re coin will keep more value if you communicate, DON’T give hard dates and always deliver a product that exceeds expectations.