EPYC Miner build discussion

@dandabek

Ok Dan,
So I’ve been mining for 3-4 months now and I’ve loved every minute of it, only problem is I want to build MORE!!! A few months back I stumbled across the AMD EPYC CPU line and some light bulbs went off, and then a few weeks later you had mentioned the EPYC 7 series chips and how they could potentially do 5x the Ryzen 9… :eyes: Now since this is only my second build, I’m still unsure about memory needs, and power supply size… Also, I’ve come across a few dual cpu motherboards that are rather intriguing, when thinking about scalability. If one of the EPYC CPU’s can do 4-5x what the ryzen3900 does, can the dual motherboard run at 8-10x the ryzen??

Let’s build this thing together!

6 Likes

Can you share which CPUs you were thinking of more specifically? Without much research to me it still looked a bit too expensive, even when you count that you would buy less of other components. Currently to me AMD Ryzen 9 5950X looks like a great replacement for Ryzen 3900x

4 Likes

Well that’s the thing. I’m learning along the way, so I was hoping for a little guidance from Dan, regarding exactly which cpu he was talking about in hangout 5 (I believe) when he said this one cpu could do what 5 ryzens could do, and the price point he referenced was $2kish. :eyes:

I asked in the hangout yesterday, and he said to share this on the forum, so we can all benefit from this building experience…

When I look into all of the models that seemed that much stronger, some of them are 5-6-7k, so I’m a little lost as far as where to start with comparing performance between options, and how to find the happy medium. My goal is to build the strongest single cpu unit feasible, and if possible a double cpu rig, while still keeping ROI within one year.

I found one build using a ASRock Romed8-2T with an EPYC 7742.
My ignorance prevents me from knowing how to calculate memory/power supply needs, so that is where I’m stuck moving forward…